Electric Generation

Power Plant 5Overview

The Fremont Department of Utilities serves its customer's electric demands from a variety of sources including coal, natural gas, wind, hydro, and solar. 

Lon D. Wright Power Plant

The Lon D. Wright Power Plant, located at the intersection of First Street and Luther Road, is the utility's main power production facility and is staffed 24 hours a day by four rotating shifts to provide our customers safe, reliable, and economical electric service.

The LDW Power Plant has three coal-fired electric generating units called units 6, 7, and 8. They produce 16.5, 22, and 91.5 megawatts respectively. Each year the plant uses approximately 370,000 ton of coal to produce about 620,128 megawatt hours of electricity. Its cooling towers can be seen each holiday season with its red and green lighting.

Derril G. Marshall Generating Station

The Derril G. Marchall Generating Station is a natural gas peaking turbine generator with capacity to produce 40 megawatts.  The gas turbine is used to help cover Fremont's peak demands. 


Fremont owns 40 megawatts of wind in the Cottonwood Wind Farm located in Blue Hill, NE.


Fremont has a power purchase agreement for 5 megawatts of hydroelectricity in the Western Area Power Agreement (WAPA). 


Fremont has two community solar farms producing a combined total of 2.3 megawatts.